New old poem


I was digging through some of my old mails as I was journeying home (I travel for about 2 hours in one direction, and sometimes old mails are quite entertaining; besides I realised I’m using almost 90% of the humongous space that Gmail provides me with, and I decided it was time to clean up) and I found this piece that I had written during a class (From the date on the mail, the words in the post and the sound of it all, I’m guessing it was wayyy back in school or in early college) Obviously, my classroom fostered my creative side far more than my office does, but I thought it would be worth a post.

Here’s presenting a yet untitled poem.

I never meant to say those words
I never meant to hurt u so
I never meant to lose u
I never meant to let u go

One look at u
n i feel myself melt away
one glance at ur eyes
and I recall that day

I saw u walk by me
never giving me a glance
the apple of everyone’s eyes
I never stood a chance

When u first said those words to me
I almost fainted with joy
I wanted to fall into ur arms
into the arms of my dream boy

The moments we shared
The love that grew
it was like nothing I knew before
a feeling that was new

But it told me nothing of the tomorrow
when we wud be apart
when every word u said
would draw gaping holes in my heart

But today I am wiser
for I heave learnt my share
I’ve learnt that love hurts
I know now that love is unfair

Yet even today, you’re on my mind
as I lay to rest, I dream of u
my mind n heart are in conflict
and i dont know what I must do

I know I was a complete fool
When I said I saw no future in U n me
and if I had the chance to right that wrong
I’d want to find out if it could’ve been “We”

But I never meant to say those words
I never meant to hurt u so
But I never meant to lose u
I never meant to let u go

P.S. I think this poem is still incomplete… suggestions to make it sound complete are more than welcome

Leave a Reply

