Weekly Blogging Initiative


I’ve been promising myself for a while now that I should get myself into a routine to blog at least once a week. But then my schedule keeps wreaking havoc on my plans, my access to an open internet connection keeps getting more limited and my will to push the limits just keeps dropping.
So after much thought, I have once again downloaded WordPress’s BB app to force myself to look into the face of my now-sorry blog and its dwindling number of posts. And to fix it.

This week I choose a fairly mundane topic – the music on my fone. Since I spend a good part of my day travelling (as do most ppl in Mumbai) I tend to stock up on quite a bit of music to make my journey entertaining (for a while I also had a few episodes of The Big Bang Theory or HIMYM on my fone as well… But I discovered that Sheldon doesn’t sound as hilarious and Barney doesn’t seem as awesome against the voices of hoardes of women yelling stuff in Marathi all around ur earfones). I also have to keep updating the playlist ever so often – apparently business phones aren’t as “busy” if u install a simple radio application; but Facebook and Twitter and Games are “busy” enough to make the applist.

Back to the topic. Music. One of the many songs currently on my fone is an original from a Star Music series called “The Dewarists” – Minds Without Fear.
A little on the series to give u a background on its songs. The series is basically an opportunity for musicians to collaborate and make awesome music. In most cases, the musicians are from completely different walks of life (like a classical-trained singer with a straight-up rock band), so it takes u by quite a bit of surprise wen they find so much common ground on which to base their music. The episodes, which run a good 40 minutes each on youtube, are not only about the final composition, but also about the journey the musicians take to get there. The first season of the season wrapped up just a while back – check it out on youtube or through http://thedewarists.com/.

Minds Without Fear, composed on the Pilot episode, is truly an “East meets West” venture with Vishal-Shekhar teaming up with Imogen Heap for a song. Vishal-Shekhar, if you don’t already know (and if you don’t you probably should quit on the rest of the post), are composers with good influence of rock and classical Indian music blending into AWESOME Bollywood. Imogen Heap composed for Frou Frou, a band considerably less mainstream, and seems to be less into straight-up rock or funk and more into experimental music.
The Pilot episode unfurls somewhere near Jaipur – first with the 2 artists putting their heads together to sketch an outline of a song and then hitting the streets to improvise on it. I especially loved the bit of the episode where Imogen and Vishal head into a local music store and try out a heap of instruments to incorporate into the song. (It reminds me vaguely of Business School – where I picked up stuff from different ppl without knowing what the final document was going to look like; the bits and pieces sound a little odd standalone, but in the end they create a decent assignment). The whole episode revolves around both these extremely talented musicians understanding each others music and composing something both would be proud of – but something neither could have really come up with on their own.
The final result is an awesome breathtaking piece that reminds me strongly of Imogen’s original wacky style, but with a hint of charm that Vishal-Shekhar’s music brings with it. Shot in the streets, it looks like a song that embodies its title completely – as if ppl were actually breaking free. Watch out for the section where the kids chip in along with Vishal and Imogen (yes, I join in every time I hear that part of the track). Just the beat, the rhythm and the feel of the music keep you engaged through the length of the track – it doesn’t rely on a catchy tune or hilarious lyrics. Its just good music.

And its stuff like this that keeps me sane while travelling insane distances everyday. Interesting artists. A decent idea. Good music.

Until next week.
Happy Musicing.

– Uma
Check out the episode on youtube via http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvTwd4mTwQs

P.S. This post actually got wrote over TWO weeks. That’s how lazy my WEEKLY blogging initiative is.

Leave a Reply

